Logo:Sivananda Yoga Europe

The Yoga Masters >>

Home >> Yoga postures >>  Intermediate exercises

Intermediate exercises

These are the 12 basic asanas as practised in a classic yoga class:

Sirshasana, Sarvangasana, Halasana, Matsyasana, Paschimothanasana, Bhujangasana, Salabhasana, Dhanurasana, Ardha Matsyendrasana, Kakasana, Pada Hasthasana, Trikonasana
  • Initial relaxation
  • 8–10 sun salutations
  • Relaxation
  • Single leg raises
  • Relaxation
  • Double leg raises
  • Relaxation
  • Headstand (Sirshasana)
  • Relaxation
  • Shoulderstand (Sarvangasana)
  • Plough (Halasana)
  • Relaxation
  • Fish (Matsyasana)
  • Relaxation
  • Forward bend (Paschimothanasana)
  • Relaxation
  • Cobra (Bhujangasana)
  • Relaxation
  • Locust (Salabhasana)
  • Relaxation
  • Bow (Dhanurasana)
  • Relaxation
  • Half spinal twist (Ardha Matsyendrasana)
  • Child’s pose
  • Crow (Kakasana)
  • Child’s pose
  • Standing forward bend (Pada Hasthasana)
  • Triangle (Trikonasana)
  • Final relaxation (Savasana)


Duration: approx. 70 minutes

Attend one of our drop-in classes

You can choose the yoga class you would like to attend. Advance registration is not necessary.

We offer classes at different times of the day (morning, midday, afternoon, evening). Along with different workshops or classes with a special emphasis (for example, exercises for stretching the hips or enhancing the flexibility of the back), our classes are divided into the following categories:

  • Open (standard class)
  • Beginner
  • Gentle
  • Advanced

You can find an overview of the classes offered in our centres here:

Schedule – Sivananda Yoga in London >>